Arsenal 2-2 Bayern Munich: Gunners aggrieved as penalty appeal waved away

Arsenal were held to a 2-2 draw at Emirates Stadium on Tuesday, with Bayern Munich forcing a stalemate in the first leg of their UEFA Champions League quarterfinal tie. Both sides saw second half penalty appeals denied, with Bukayo Saka’s desperate bid in stoppage time waved away by Glenn Nyberg.

As it happened

With no away fans present after UEFA opted to ban Bayern Munich supporters from making the trip to North London as punishment for their pyrotechnic display in the round-of-sixteen, it took less than fifteen minutes for the Gunners to open the scoring.

Bakayo Saka’s low finish was enough to catch out Manuel Neuer, with the Englishman cutting inside before unleashing a curling effort that left the German shotstopper with no chance of making the save.

Embed from Getty Images

Defeated in their past two Bundesliga matches, Bayern Munich managed to restore parity just moments later in N5 – with Leroy Sané taking full advantage of a Gabriel error to lay Serge Gnabry through on goal. He made no mistake with the finish, but the Bayern comeback had only just begun.

It would be none other than ex-Tottenham striker Harry Kane to rub further salt into the wounds of those on the red side of North London, slamming home from twelve yards out after Willian Saliba felled Sané inside the box.

Embed from Getty Images

The second half was one full of controversy, with Leandro Trossard’s 76th-minute equaliser arguably one of the quieter moments despite the stunning buildup work from Gabriel Jesus.

Bayern Munich felt they should have been awarded a penalty when Gabriel handled the ball following the referee’s decision to award a goal kick, but the controversy sprung into full force in the closing seconds – with Saka aggrieved as he collapsed following a challenge with Neuer.

But the referee waved away the protests, forcing a decisive second leg at Allianz Arena on 17 April.

The lineups

ARS: Raya; Kiwior, Gabriel, Saliba, White; Rice, Jorginho, Ødegaard; Martinelli, Havertz, Saka

BAY: Neuer; Davies, Dier, de Ligt, Kimmich; Laimer, Goretzka; Gnabry, Musiala, Sané; Kane