Southgate names England squad to face Italy and Ukraine

Gareth Southgate has named his 23-man England squad that will travel to Naples next Thursday, before hosting Ukraine at Wembley three days later. Southgate faced criticism for his World Cup squad, from which Ivan Toney was left out amid a betting scandal.

Speaking from St George’s Park, Southgate announced his side, with Ivan Toney included – while Raheem Sterling misses out through injury. Despite Leicester’s recent misfortunes, James Maddison retains his place after failing to make an appearance in Qatar.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

Ben Chilwell and Reece James return to the squad, with Harry Maguire retaining his place despite starting just five games for Manchester United this season. Kyle Walker is also named in spite of recent allegations, with Trent Alexander-Arnold missing out. Arsenal’s Ben White isn’t named in the squad either, with Brighton’s Lewis Dunk also missing out.

Jordan Henderson retains his place in midfield, with Conor Gallagher and Mason Mount also featuring. Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice and Jude Bellingham are also named in the squad. Solly March misses out, despite his excellent performances for Brighton recently.

Phil Foden joins his Manchester City teammate Jack Grealish amongst the forwards – with Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford and Bukayo Saka also included. As mentioned, Ivan Toney and James Maddison are also featured in the squad.


GK: Pickford, Pope, Ramsdale

DEF: Chilwell, Dier, Guehi, James, Maguire, Shaw, Stones, Trippier, Walker

MID: Bellingham, Gallagher, Henderson, Mount, Phillips, Rice

ATT: Foden, Grealish, Kane, Maddison, Rashford, Saka, Toney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *