Gareth Southgate names England squad

Ahead of upcoming EURO 2024 qualifiers against Malta and North Macedonia, Gareth Southgate has named his England squad that will look to register another six points. The Three Lions currently sit at the top of Group C, having defeated Italy before battling to a 2-0 win over Ukraine at Wembley Stadium.

GK: Sam Johnstone, Jordan Pickford and Aaron Ramsdale

As expected, Jordan Pickford and Aaron Ramsdale retain their places in Gareth Southgate’s squad. Fraser Forster is replaced by Sam Johnstone as the third-choice ‘keeper. Nick Pope misses out through surgery.

DEF: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Lewis Dunk, Marc Guehi, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker

As always, Southgate has opted to include plenty of defensively-minded players in his squad. Trent Alexander-Arnold missed out against Italy and Ukraine, but the Liverpool star has been recalled after finding form in the Premier League. Brighton’s Lewis Dunk has been included in the squad too – and is set to make his second England appearance, having featured in a friendly against the USA in 2018. Hamstring injuries have ended the season for Chelsea duo Reece James and Ben Chilwell.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

MID: Jude Bellingham, Conor Gallagher, Jordon Henderson, Eberechi Eze, Kalvin Phillips and Declan Rice

Jude Bellingham is now one of the first names in any England squad – but there were doubts surrounding his inclusion for this round of fixtures, having suffered from a knee problem recently. Eberechi Eze has bagged fourteen goal contributions this season for Crystal Palace, which has been enough to earn him a spot. Amid rumours of a move to Arsenal, Declan Rice has been included. Conor Gallagher, Jordan Henderson and Kalvin Phillips round out the midfield options. Mason Mount misses out after having pelvic surgery last month. Morgan Gibbs-White and Curtis Jones will have to settle for the U21 side, despite having impressed for their respective clubs recently.

ATT: Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Bukayo Saka, Marcus Rashford, Callum Wilson and James Maddison

Arguably one of the most notable absences from this England squad is Ivan Toney – as the Brentford striker has been suspended from all footballing activity for eight months, following an FA Investigation into breaches of betting regulations. James Maddison is included as a forward this time round, with Callum Wilson returning to the squad after missing out on the last international squad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *